top of page
  • zahrabaz7

Invisible Illnesses

Updated: Feb 5, 2021

Despite the incessant demands for better access to mental health services in Northern Ireland, the 2017 collapse of the Executive has only contributed to no further progress in this key area.


Poor mental health has been a steadily increasing issue in Northern Ireland, with now more people having passed away from suicide in the last 17 years than during the entire period of The Troubles.


A particular area of concern would be the mental health of students, who face more pressure now than ever before with the rise of social media and the standards expected of them from schools. After speaking with over 2200 16-25-year-olds, The Prince’s Trust 2019 Youth Index released alarming figures. The findings demonstrated that demonstrating that 65% of young people in education always or often feel stressed, with 55% always or often feeling anxious, and a further 33% often feeling hopeless.


Best evidence of these statistics is 21-year-old Hope Graham, who felt she was unable to enter into university following the completion of her A-Levels as a result of poor mental, and physical health. Hope was diagnosed with Juvenile Idiopathic Poly Articular Arthritis (JIA) at age 8. Since then research has been conducted and revealed that 4 in 5 people with arthritis feel anxious or depressed as a result of their condition and the isolation it can ensue.


“I first noticed my mental health taking a real nose-dive the summer after my GCSE’s. I’d just been put on new medication for my JIA, so my physical health decreased alongside my mental health.”


“My attendance in Lower Sixth was 56% and even worse in Upper Sixth when it was at 42% - it seriously took a toll on my work and relationships. I lost a lot of friends because I wasn’t in school and talking to them, and I broke up with my boyfriend… Everything was extremely overwhelming and I started to become really paranoid about my relationships with people – I’ve been paranoid ever since!”


“Deadlines are a big deal to me. I often put too much pressure on myself to meet deadlines, but I’m currently working as a volunteer for a family-run charity – these are self-made deadlines and I keep having to remind myself that it’s okay if I don’t make them all.”

Hope’s tattoo; featuring artwork from the 2016 album ‘She Is’ by Jonghyun.

One of Hope’s sources of inspiration and motivation is her tattoo, which she got following the suicide of one of her favourite artists.


“I was going through similar thoughts at the time; I remember seeing the sadness and pain on the faces of his loved ones, and it made me realise how I’d never want to make anyone that heartbroken.”


“My tattoo is a logo from one of his albums and every time I look at it, it reminds me of him and what his loved ones went through. It’s honestly helped me so much; any time I have a horrible thought about myself all I have to do is look at it and any violent thoughts against myself just get quieter”.


If you, or anyone you may know, are experiencing poor mental health, speak with your GP as soon as possible. Or contact Lifeline on 0808 808 8000.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page